Named Professorships

Catherine H. Zuckert

Catherine H. Zuckert

Nancy Reeves Dreux Professor of Political Science

In 2009, Catherine Zuckert’s 900-page volume, Plato’s Philosophers: The Coherence of the Dialogues­, received three American Publishers Awards for Professional and Scholarly Excellence, including the top prize, the R.R. Hawkins Award. More recently, she wrote “Why Socrates and Thrasymachus Become Friends” for Philosophy & Rhetoric, and “The Life of Castruccio Castracani: Machiavelli as Literary Artist, Historian, Teacher, and Philosopher” for History of Political Thought. Zuckert also serves on the editorial board of an 8-volume Encyclopedia of Political Thought. Currently, she is conducting research that will culminate in the book Machiavelli’s Politics, a project for which she received a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Zuckert is also  Editor-in-Chief of The Review of Politics, recognized in 2010 by the American Political Science Association’s PS: Political Science & Politics as the third most important publication in its field, and referred to as a “national treasure” by Steven B. Smith, Cowles Professor of Political Studies at Yale University. Most recently, Zuckert edited a collection of essays entitled, Political Philosophy in the 20th Century: Authors and Arguments, for Cambridge University Press (2011). Thad Williamson of the University of Richmond reviewed the book for Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews and stated, "One imagines that this book will very quickly make it on the required reading list of graduate students in political theory and political philosophy preparing for general exams, and will be widely consulted by faculty preparing lectures on twentieth-century political thought."

Contact Professor Zuckert.
Visit her website.

A 1935 graduate of Newcomb College (part of Tulane University), Nancy Reeves Dreux was a dedicated civic leader in New Orleans. Her husband, William B. Dreux (’33), was a captain in the Office of Strategic Services during World War II; his book, No Bridges Blown, was published by the University of Notre Dame Press in 1972.